Skip to content Skip to navigation

46 Stanford Students Win Centennial Teaching Assistant Awards for Outstanding Contributions

Centennial Teaching Awards

The Office of the Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning (VPTL) will honor 46 Stanford teaching assistants with a Centennial Teaching Assistant Award during a noon ceremony June 11, 2016.  The award recognizes outstanding instruction by teaching assistants in the schools of Humanities and Sciences, Earth Sciences and Engineering.

Psychology Professor Ewart Thomas initiated the program in 1989, during his tenure as dean of the School of Humanities and Sciences to acknowledge and celebrate the important role that teaching assistants play at Stanford. VPTL provides orientation, training, and mentorship to teaching assistants in their capacity as instructors and now hosts the annual awards ceremony, where deans of the three participating schools present awardees with a $500 stipend and a certificate recognizing their accomplishment. 

The 2016 Centennial Teaching Assistant Award recipients are:

School of Humanities & Sciences 

Art and Art History: Cy Keener and Sean O’Hanlan
Chemistry: Timothy Horton, Ariel Jacobs, Elizabeth McLoughlin and Ross Moretti 
Classics: Ava Shirazi
History: Russell Burge, Mateo Carrillo and Vladimir Hamed-Troyansky
Human Biology: Amy Ransohoff
Modern Thought & Literature: Brian Johnsrud
Music: Andrew Watts
Philosophy: Blake Francis and Yafeng Wang
Physics: Scott Kravitz, Kunal Sahasrabuddhe, Colvin Wang and Tim Wiser
Political Science: Kirk Bansak, Simon Ejdemyr and Lily Lamboy 
Psychology: Rebecca Carey, Takuya Sawaoka and Kara Weisman
Sociology: Christof Brandtner and Molly King

School of Earth, Energy, and Environmental Sciences 

Earth Systems Program: Jeremy K. Caves, Sophia Rose Christel and Daniel Enrique Ibarra
Geological Sciences: Thomas R. Benson
Geophysics: Meredith Goebel

School of Engineering 

Aeronautics & Astronautics and Mechanical Engineering: Cheng Liu
Bioengineering: Alexandra Denisin
Chemical Engineering: David Bergsman
Civil and Environmental Engineering: Afroz Algiers
Computer Science: Ilan Goodman, Isabel Bush and Krister Johnson
Electrical Engineering and ICME: Tim Anderson
Electrical Engineering: Jose Padovani
Management Science & Engineering: Kian Katanforoosh
Materials Science & Engineering: Becky Blisle
Mechanical Engineering: Cesare Jenkins, Charbel Eid and Chris Ploch